Making a space

‘It is in playing and only in playing that the individual child or adult is able to be creative and to use the whole personality, and it is only in being creative that the individual discovers the self’  (D. Winnicott 1971, Playing and Reality pg 73)

IMG_3091IMG_3096IMG_3115The shed build started. I’m creating my own space in the garden for me to do messy making and have all these magpie like bits of fabric and paper I have been collecting for years; out and usable. I have always wanted a shed, I like small spaces a lot; Caravans, boats, tree houses, dolls houses – this shed looks almost like a grown up wendy house.

It started with a prepared space in the garden, and then making the base extra secure and sturdy with the help of wood working friends. In fact the whole thing would have been extremely difficult without the friend crew in tow, it was a real team effort. This was probably back in late October 2015 the project started, and I have been slowly chipping away ever since.

The roof was the most difficult part, trying to lay the felt and ensure none of the west of England rain gets through. In the end I had to do it twice and add a layer of tar – it’s not leaked over this wet winter so fingers crossed we have got a good 5 years ahead together at least. I have laid an extra layer of chipboard flooring and am working towards  insulating and plaster boarding it on the interior.

When it’s completed it will be my home studio; to stitch, draw, print and I can’t wait. I have an exhibition upcoming as part of my MA, and have been rushing to complete the shed in order to make a space to make….but this common theme of therapy ‘trusting in the process’ is reappearing. I feel that actually the building and creating of the shed is part of my process, making a space for myself, which feels very important. So I am slowing down the process now, taking my time to ensure I do a good job to create this den for myself and my art practice, an aladdin’s cave at the bottom of the garden.

Some artshed inspiration

Tracy Emin – A Perfect place to grow 2001

Shedboatshed Simon Starling

Cold Dark Matter: An Exploded View – Cornelia Parks

V and A – Summer shed exhibition 2004


Leave a comment